o-CANADIAN-FLAG-facebook

As a student, it feels like a lot of the textbooks we buy are overpriced, useless and unnecessary. While I always purchase what the book list says I should, I even find myself questioning when I will ever need these again. However, I was pleasantly surprised in the first semester of my first year when I came across the most useful textbook ever. (I know you don’t believe me, but just wait for it…)

The 17th Edition of The Canadian Press Style Book; A guide for Writers and Editors. (Available on Amazon.ca for purchase!)

Don’t roll your eyes just yet. Let me explain why. As Canadians, we are always compared to the United States of America. I am with you, it’s annoying. However, because of this, we have a serious spelling epidemic on our hands. The media we are bombarded with on a daily bases (most of it American) has caused us, as a society, to forget that we are special. We spell things differently from our southern cousins. As Canadians, we spell it OUR way. This is an important thing to remember. Always. Words like: neighbour, labour, harbour, colour, etc, we spell differently. And it even goes past the OUR rule. In Canada, “barbecue” is spelled with a “C”, not a “Q”. Weird, right?

I’m not trying to bore you with a spelling lesson. There is a point here. The communications field is filled with great writers who write a variety of ways for a variety of companies. If you are going to do this job in Canada, you need to know these tips and tricks. Hence, the book. I am a Canadian born 25-year-old who is an excellent speller, and there are words in there (like barbecue) that I had no idea I was spelling wrong! This book is so useful! I wish I had it in high school. It would have been so useful at a younger age to know these things. Communication in any field is key. And getting your point across in a concise (and correctly spelled) manner is also super important!

Also, the book is small. Like, smaller than a novel. So, it is totally portable and easy to have on hand for those “crap! How do you spell that!?” moments. So, I say go out and get your hands on this book as soon as you can. You will not regret it, no matter who you are, or what you are doing with your life. It’s just the Canadian way!

I hope you enjoyed my not-so-orthodox book review. I will be back again on Tuesday to cover more exciting PR topics for your enjoyment. Don’t miss out on my Inspiring Quotes of the Day!

Cheers!

